Dyeing adventures take three

Hello everyone,

How is it going? All has been good here, although I am still waiting for summer to arrive in our little corner of the UK. Our vegetable patch needs some work, but sadly with all of the rain we have been having, it has been feeling a little neglected. Oh well, saves on the watering!

Whilst we have been having all of this rainy weather, I have been partaking in some yarn dyeing. I am today going to share with you my latest skeins of yarn.

I recently decided I wanted to make another lush cardigan (first one here). But not only did I decide that, I decided that I wanted to dye the yarn for it! Nuts right? Well nuts as it may be, I excitedly ordered 500g of undyed worsted weight yarn and some new dyes. I ordered some Wilton’s food colouring gel. As this is a new to me dye, I decided to get some practice in before I tried to dye 500g of yarn! Sensible I thought…. plus it means more time to play with dye. So I bought two 50g balls of superwash wool (DK) in the clearance section, got out the dyes, pots, citric acid and gloves and off I went.

I decided on six colours in the end (I added one after this photo). The colours I went with were green, orange, blue, red, yellow and then I added some purple. I used the same method as when I dyed with kool aidΒ in that I soaked the yarn in water before starting, then put the yarn into new water (this time with added citric acid, about 1.5 tsp) and then dropped dyes on top. I then warmed it up for about 30 minutes, let it cool and then washed it out. I then hung it up to dry and this was the result

IMGP2419

Excuse the messy skeins… I found it hard to skein these with the ties attached for some reason!

I am really pleased with them. The skeins are different, but they have the same colours running through them. I am going to turn these into walking boot socks. I know they don’t have nylon in, so won’t be as hard wearing as they could be… but they will be perfect for walking boots and I know I will get some good use out of them πŸ˜€

Now I am all practiced… onto the 500 g sweater weight! This will at least be one colour (purple)… I will let you know how I get on soon!

4 thoughts on “Dyeing adventures take three

  1. Pingback: Finished hiking boot socks. – stitchingyarns

Leave a Reply

