Crochet ripple goodness

Hello everyone.

I hope 2016 is treating you well so far. It could have been a little kinder to me as so far it has just given me a rotten cold and a leaking fish tank! Oh well, it could be a lot worse. The cold will get better and the fish now have a new tank to call home.

Today I thought I would share with you a new project that I have on the hook, yes that is right, the hook… not needles. Today I am sharing some crochet with you. By nature I am a knitter and crochet is an alien craft to me. I dabble in it, but not enough to make something with any form of skill. Well to me, the project I am doing now requires lots of skill, although I am fairly sure that for you seasoned crocheters this is something you could do in your sleep! So, for Christmas I received a yarn pack (cottage colourway) along with a pattern for a crochet ripple blanket.

image

Look at all that gorgeous yarn! Isn’t it lovely?

Both the colour pack and the pattern were designed by Attic 24. So a few days after Christmas I cast on (what is the crochet equivalent for this?) and with a lot of help from the Attic 24 tutorial (link here) I now have ripples forming. Yay! (Seasoned crocheters…. don’t study the stitches too closely!)

image

Despite the tutorial I had a slow start. My first 2 colours and half of the third (each colour has two rows – colours are repeated again later in the blanket) I did wrong and they don’t ripple properly. I was ignoring the fact that I was increasing/ decreasing stitches and wasn’t using them to crochet in. But anyway, despite the issues at the beginning…. I am now rippling happily away and I am on my eighth colour. Happy days!

image

Look at that ripple goodness!

I am sure you will be seeing more of this over the next few weeks/ months. It is a pleasure to work on, although I think I might have a long way to go before I can class myself as a crocheter!

2 thoughts on “Crochet ripple goodness

  1. Pingback: A finished blanket! – stitchingyarns

Leave a Reply

