Christmas pyjamas!

Hello all, I have some sewing for you today. It has been a while since I have shared a sewing project with you and I really excited to show this to you. The first ever sewing project I made (a year ago this Christmas) was a pair of pyjama trousers (pattern is Simplicity pattern 2116), made with the help of my mum. I decided to make another pair today, this time as a Christmas present for my the sister of my other half. She is the same size as me so I had the pattern cut out and ready to go. I had already pre-washed the fabric so I needed to iron it, cut the pieces out and sew the pyjama trousers. I am amazed to say that I managed it in a morning, and it all went without a hitch. I even managed to match the stripes on the fabric, I am very pleased with this.

IMGP1605

The fabric is a Scandinavian print from John Lewis, it contains a lovely mixture of penguins, trees, deer and snowmen. The recipient loves penguins so hopefully this will go down a treat.

IMGP1608

I tried a new stitch on my sewing machine today. This one sews it together and finishes the ends at the same time. Not quite as fancy as an overlocker but it looks like it should work! I hope it stands up to the washing machine.
IMGP1610

The trousers didn’t take long to make and I am really pleased with the outcome. They have an elasticated waste band – the elastic inserted in via a casing.

IMGP1611

I have never matched a pattern in sewing before so I was really pleased with how these turned out. I am glad I made the effort as these would have looked really daft with mismatched stripes. I like them so much that I have bought myself the blue/grey equivalent of this to make myself a pair. I can’t wait to give these to her, although I will be sad to part with them, I am excited to see her face when she opens them!

I hope you are having a lovely weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Christmas pyjamas!

  1. I sewed my 1st pair of pajamas last year. Mine aren’t the adorable Christmas pattern but a lavender flower on white background. They are really comfy though. Excellent job on matching the pattern…that is not easily done!
    – Kenzel

    Like

Leave a Reply

