Down by the seaside socks

Hello all,

I have a finished object for you today…. a pair of socks! I started these a while back after I had finished my cardigan. I dug a ball of Sirdar Heart and Sole out of my sock yarn stash and decided that I wanted a chevron pattern. I have made one pair of chevron socks before using the Jaywalker pattern, so I thought this time that I would look for another. I found a pattern called traffic island socks. This made use of a feather and fan pattern and I thought it would do perfectly.

I have been working on these slowly and I have been enjoying the process. The pattern itself is a two row repeat (one just a knit row) and it was very easy to memorise. The result is a lovely lace looking chevron.

IMGP0132

The photo above shows the chevron pattern in all of its glory, the photo below shows the pair of socks! I almost got them to completely match, the second sock had a random blue stripe just after the heel which didn’t materialise on the first. Apart from that they are very matchy and I am super happy with them.

IMGP0131

Aren’t they pretty? I decided the colours looked like them belong at the seaside (hence the name). It reminds me of blue sky and blue-green sea with pretty purple flowers scattered across the stony flats at the top of the beach. Blissful!

Now I need to decide what to cast on next! It will either be some socks, a hitchhiker shawl or a hat. I will keep you posted.

Happy knitting everyone šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

