My Simplicity star sewist entry

Hello all,

I hope you are all well. I have finally got around to finishing and blogging my Simplicity star sewist skirt (pattern Simplicity It’s so easy 2286). I really enjoyed making this pattern. It took me about four hours from opening the pattern to the final iron. I wasn’t constantly sewing it either, I was back and forward into the garden etc so I think I could have had it done in an hour or so less time. Like the pattern says, it is an easy sew and one I was definitely recommend to a novice sewer. The pattern is extremely detailed and walks you through all steps with a picture at each stage. This is really useful if you are unfamiliar with techniques such as attaching a casing and inserting elastic. If you are a more experienced sewer the pattern is still perfect as the pattern pieces are detailed enough to just let you get on with it. I made a size 12 for this pattern and used material from John Lewis. Want to see the finished result? I am delighted with it and if the weather would warm up a little bit I will be wearing it soon! So here it is, ta da!IMGP9240Below I am checking out its ‘twirlability’, it definitely has some 🙂IMGP9237

I followed view B almost exactly as it was on the pattern, however I didn’t include the zipper tape on the top of the pockets. I absolutely love pockets in things so I was happy to be able to make this pattern with pockets included. It is a perfect length for me falling just above my knee.
IMGP9242I really enjoyed making this pattern and will definitely be making it again. I can see these being really good spring/ summer staples. This is my entry to the Simplicity star sewist competition. I was sent this pattern to make for the competition, however, as with all of my blog posts all views are my own.

Happy sewing and knitting everyone, I hope you have a really great crafty week!

One thought on “My Simplicity star sewist entry

Leave a Reply

